Maxwell Football Club Awards 2020

July 16th, 2020 by Leo | Filed under 94WIP, College Sports, Football, General, NCAA, Sports.
Press Release

July 13, 2020         Philadelphia, PA
The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch list for the 26thAnnual Chuck Bednarik Award presented annually to the outstanding defensive player in college football.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik a former standout at the University of Pennsylvania and with the Philadelphia Eagles. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of ’69 and the NFL Hall of Fame’s Class of ’67.

The Bednarik Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, and will feature fresh faces, as 2019 winner Chase Young (Ohio State) and finalists Derrick Brown (Auburn) and Isaiah Simmons (Clemson) have all moved on to the NFL. The list features 3 returning semifinalists from 2019 including Derek Stingley (LSU), Micah Parsons (Penn State) and Marvin Wilson (Florida State). LSU, Pittsburgh and USC lead the way with 3 candidates each and 17 other schools boast 2 candidates.

Young became the first Buckeye to ever win the award before being chosen with the 2nd overall pick by the Washington Redskins.

 Click here to download the 2020 Pre-Season Bednarik Award Watch List   
The members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association’s 25 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates.
Following is the entire 2020 preseason watch list calendar:
Monday July 13:                            Chuck Bednarik Award
Tuesday July 14                            Davey O’Brien Award
Wednesday July 15                      Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 16                          Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 17                                Mackey Award
Monday July 20                             Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday July 21                            Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award
Wednesday July 22                      Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 23                          Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 24                                Maxwell Award

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.